Stingy Commenters – WTF?

September 17, 2010 at 3:38 pm (Entertainment, Humor, Random) (, , , , , , , , , )

Have you ever posted what you thought was the BE ALL and END ALL of AWESOME BLOG posts, only to have it up for a few days and realize that although you are getting traffic to your blog, you aren’t receiving any comments?

What gives, people? I mean, whenever I visit a Blogger’s writing, I always leave a comment. ALWAYS. In fact, there has never been a time that I didn’t either “like” a post or comment on it. NEVER.

Yet, here I sit…several views per day. Several blog posts submitted, yet only ONE comment, and I think it’s because I generated interest by leaving a comment on another bloggers post.

Some may feel that I’m whining. It’s not that at all…I know several others get discouraged when there isn’t traffic or proof of traffic on their blogs.

So do you realize what your comments mean to those of us who participate and want to belong to a BLOG community? Here’s what I feel receiving comments does for a committed BLOGGER:

  • Validates their feelings/views
  • Opens their eyes to new perspectives
  • Confidence booster
  • Honest feedback from the general population
  • New Friendships
  • Exposure
  • Comic relief
  • many many more…

So you see…it’s not just to toot ones horn, but it gives a sense of community when you are generous with your comments. You never know…maybe the next time you leave a comment on someone’s blog – they will turn into a lifelong friend. How many opportunities have you missed by reading but not commenting?

14 Comments

  1. dongtacular said,

    You hit the nail on the head! I’ll definitely try to comment more, or like posts (on your posts anyway!).

    • Carm said,

      Thanks, man!! Now, I just need to find time to sit and read!! I find that I don’t have nearly as much time to do that as I’d like!!! Thanks for the comment!!!

  2. MOM said,

    I’m here!!!!!

  3. MOM said,

    I’m here! Wow this thing said I’m posting too many comments too quickly…what is up with that?

    • Carm said,

      Whaaaaaa???? Too many too quickly????? That’s RUDE!!!!!!!!!!! Never heard of that before. Of course you are about the only other person who’s commented on my stinkin BLOG…so…

  4. MOM said,

    Yeah doesn’t look like these folks are too eager to comment on others. So do they all keep to themselves?

    • Carm said,

      I think it’s a matter of getting a readership behind you is all. When you’re new, it takes awhile to get noticed. I noticed that when I started using the right “tags” on my posts, I got a lot more traffic here…it’s just that no one comments. Hard to say why…but we just need to remember we had something special with PNN…nothing will probably come close to that.

  5. MOM said,

    I just don’t want that to go away and I’m trying like hell to prevent losing everyone. I emailed Laurena and basically told him to stop dragging his feet. He directed me to a new post. Basically I think it says he wants someone else to do all the work and I’m not sure I can be part of that. I need more details. He’s asked me to take over “sections.” Wow! What good is that if the changes still aren’t made? I’m asking him for more clarity. Why do I feel like I’m banging my head against the wall? Oh I hate to lose PNN cause you know some of us are going to get lost. I like it there..or at least I did.

    • Carm said,

      I know…but he’s stringing you along. He stringing us all along. If he’s acting like this now…how on earth is he going to act when he actually has people on “staff” taking care of the site. I don’t understand why any businessman trying to save a BLOG site would put all of this crap out in the open. It’s boggling my mind.

  6. Lyn Burnstine said,

    Your party story was so funny. I can just see you there, being the life of it, no doubt! The only time I ever got drunk was at my 1st anniversary party–I was 20–and when someone requested I lay the piano, I tried, then turned around an announced that I had lost my left hand! Never again! A buzz, maybe.

    • Carm said,

      LOL Lyn!!!!!!!! That is HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Carm said,

        They typo was pretty funny too!!! LOL

  7. Lyn Burnstine said,

    Oops! the typo is funnier than my Post! PLAY the piano, not LAY IT!! JEEZ

  8. MOM said,

    Here I am trying to picture Lyn trying to “Lay” the piano! LOL Now excuse me while I dig my mind outta the gutter! LOL

Leave a Reply

