Whatsferdeeeeener?

September 14, 2010 at 2:57 pm (Entertainment, Humor, Kids, Random, Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

So, I’m fairly good at making sure we eat at a reasonable hour, however there are times when I am not at all inspired or even hungry enough to figure out what to make for dinner.

On nights like these, I find that I like to tell the kiddos to “make a sandwich” or “make a salad” or (to the 14 year old) “Make a boxed noodle dinner”. Most of the time, I find I feel this way after an especially stressful day. Hell, sometimes I can’t even put forth the effort it takes to say the words, “go get in the shower, child”.

So this brings me to last night. My wonderful husband of 19 years was sitting on the couch last night after I returned with “The Volleyball Star’s” new V’ball spandex shorts that we had to specially buy or she wasn’t going to get to play, never mind the fact that she HAS some, they just aren’t made out of ENTIRELY spandex, but you almost have to TOUCH THEM to see they aren’t the shinier material and I had to spend ANOTHER $25 on this little fun extracurricular activity…*gasping for air*…but I digress…

He’s sitting there, reading his most current Esquire Magazine. We walk in, he looks up,  we express our success to him and 14 year old V’ball star hits the stairs to put her stuff away and I plop down in a chair as Mr. gets back to his magazine. I sit there. Staring at him. For an uncomfortable amount of time. He never once looks in my direction even though he was facing me and probably could COMPLETELY see that I was looking at him…he pretty much ignored me.

It’s that typical thing that us chicks fall for…we get pissy because we’re sitting there and want to talk, and we can’t BELIEVE that they can’t READ OUR MIND and notice that we have that look on our face like we have something to say. HOW DARE THEM!!!!!

So I sit there…and after about 5 minutes – which seemed like it was about 48 minutes, I got up and was all “Well….*that* was nice.” Under my breath of course…………………..

I march into the kitchen, get even MORE flabbergasted by the lack of inspiration that filled our cupboards and decided that I was gonna plop myself down and CHILL OUT.

An hour passes – which by the way, puts us at about 7:45pm – I thought my window had passed and I was going to make it off SCOTT FREE. I was getting sorta excited about just sitting there the rest of the night when Mr. walks in and was all….”So…you want some chicken-salad for dinner?” (Chicken-salad = strips of chicken cooked in Good Seasons Italian Dressing until nice and brown and tossed onto a bed of lettuce or baby spinach leaves and decked out however you like to deck a salad out…)

  • I said, “If that’s what you want then you can have it.”
  • He said, “I’ll be happy to cut up the chicken.”
  • I said, “Uh…so…I guess that means I’m going to be cooking dinner then, eh?”
  • He said, “If you don’t mind.”

Only on the inside I was thinking, “DAMMIT TO HELL!!!!! WHAT THE HELL!!!” and “WHY CAN’T YOU FREAKING DO THIS CRAP YOURSELF?!?!”

And then I checked my attitude, because you know why? Because when I started cooking that shizz? IT SMELLED AWESOMESAUCE, that’s why!!!! And I wanted some after all that hissy fit I just threw!

So that’s why I think he loves me. Because sometimes…not always…but SOME. TIMES. I do stuff I don’t wanna do just to make sure he’s taken care of. And THAT is why, when we got married at 19 years of age, we are STILL married today – because I will cook for him and he does the laundry, dishes and ALL the yardwork for me….

Leave a Reply

