Calling all Parents With a Sense of Humor

September 8, 2010 at 11:57 am (Entertainment) (, , , , , , )

For those of you coveting the ever-elusive “Manual to Teenagers”, I implore you to relinquish your firm tight grasp and share it with the world – but me first! Quit hogging it. Seriously!

Here’s the scoop in about 500 words or less:

As the loving mother of a well-adjusted 14 year old daughter who excels at most anything the puts her mind to, and yes, her High School Career just started and she’s beginning Honors classes to join the International Baccalaureate program that is offered to Junior’s and Senior’s. ~Excuse the momentary lapse of judgment with the bragging – I don’t do it very often, and what better place to do it than my very own BLOG?!?!?~We have a few things I’d like to get under control before her leash get’s extended to the breaking point and she runs for the quickest Greyhound Station. (Are there even any greyhound stations out there anymore?)

Here’s a laundry list of items that I need clarified:

  • eyerolling
  • texting/cell phones
  • extracurricular activities
  • trips to the mall
  • babysitting money – how much to save, how much to allow them to spend.
  • BOYS
  • Makeup
  • Punishments
  • the Internet – to Facebook? or NOT to Facebook…that is the question.
  • that pissy scrinchy look that seems to always be on their face – seriosuly – where does that look COME FROM?!?!?!

Here’s my school of thought…and before I get into this, I should let you know that she is attending her father’s and my Alma Mater…yes, she is attending our old high school. We met there and consequently became married not long after I graduated. And believe me, I’ve scoped the place out for any spies that may be left roaming the halls after 20 years…but narry a one has lasted this long. Yeah, yeah…I’m THAT old. I know…

Back to my “school” of thought – I’m a firm, intellectual parent. I know when the BS-ing starts…and I can tell when I’m NOT being BS-ed. I also believe that the busier you keep the kids, the less energy they have to focus on activities that are not becoming of an honor student. So, here’s what we’ve got her involved in: Volleyball, Choir, Leadership, possibly Cheerleading, and some very very challenging courses so that she can get some college credit under her belt when she graduates – with the ultimate goal of becoming an RN. HER GOAL. We’re very encouraging of both of our girls when they talk to us about their aspirations for the future. So we’re open to whatever they choose. However, once they have chosen something to put their efforts into, we are sure to encourage them and constantly drive them to be the best and keep their goals in the forefront of their minds.

So if you can offer up some advice on the list of bullet points that would be SPECTACULAR. Or just give me your take on this whole Teenager thing…because seriously…I need some help. I’m gonna lose it.

2 Comments

  1. gmomj said,

    Hi fellow mom.
    You are not that old AT ALL!
    My youngest is 20 and just started nursing school.
    That makes me..oh this hurts…knockin’ at 50’s door, yikes.
    I have 6 kids.
    All in college or graduated.
    One in medical school and he was my toughest after all, got into a bad crowd in his teens and ran amok.
    They were all in parochial schools and literally had no time for mischief.Ha!
    Your girl sounds great and normal.
    If eyerolling and malling is the worst she can think up consider yourself blessed indeed!

    http://gmomj.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/questions-we-never-dare-ask/

    • Carm said,

      Well, I have to thank you for your encouragement and also for blessing the world with 6 beautiful children. I, myself, am knocking on 40’s door and I may need to lean on you from time to time! But good LORD!!!!!!!!! That eyerolling has me perplexed. I wanna karate chop her in the head…and then a split second later wanna kiss her and hug her tight. YIPES! Thanks for reading my BLOG! I appreciate it! I hope any minor swearing and sarcasm that I write from time to time won’t turn you off!!! All the LOVE I can MUSTER! ~ Carm

Leave a Reply

